COVID certificates to be in mass use as of 1 July

Photo /Vijesti/2021/lipanj/30 lipnja/E5IKhCpWUA4Z5LC.png

On the occasion of new COVID-19 measures going into force on 1 July, the head of the national COVID crisis management team, Davor Božinović, said on Wednesday that digital COVID certificates would be in mass use as of Thursday when it came to public events with more than 100 people. 

The new decision on crossing the border has been aligned at EU level since the Digital COVID Certificate goes into force as of 1 July, which means that all EU citizens who produce it can enter Croatia without restrictions, he told the press.

Since not everyone has the certificate, although three EU commissioners sent a letter to the member states yesterday to step up the issuing, Croatia will let in EU citizens as it has done until now, if they show a vaccination or recovery certificate, a rapid antigen test not older than 48 hours or a PCR test not older than 72 hours.

Third-country nationals will no longer have to have a special reason for entering Croatia and prove the necessity of their trip, but they will have to show a vaccination, recovery or testing certificate.

Božinović said the Croatian Institute of Public Health (HZJZ) will update on its website the list of countries under special epidemiological measures. Their citizens, mostly from countries which will be listed as red or dark red, will have to show a PCR test not older than 48 hours and self-isolate for 14 days.

He said these decisions were aimed at controlling the COVID situation as much as possible, adding that the border played a very important role, notably during the summer tourist season.

These decisions show there is no unchecked entry into Croatia and establish a constant monitoring of the situation because the Delta variant is spreading in the EU, Božinović said.

He went on to say that organisers of events for over 100 people must see to compliance with the COVID measures and obtain permits from local authorities.

As of 2 July, digital COVID certificates will be issued via the eCitizen system, in 150 HZZO branches and at testing locations, which currently number 150. This also applies to foreigners.

Text: Hina