New Croatian government voted in

Photo /Vijesti/2020/07 Srpanj/23 srpnja/Edo7x7KWkAso_xH.jpg

After a debate that lasted the whole day, the Croatian 151-seat parliament on Thursday evening gave a vote of confidence in Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic and his second cabinet.

Thus, 76 MPs, who make up the ruling majority, voted for the new government, and 59 voted against, with no abstentions.

After the vote, Prime Minister Plenković and ministers were sworn in, except the new Justice and Public Administration Minister Ivan Malenica who is self-isolating after he tested positive for COVID.

The Plenkovic cabinet has four deputy prime ministers - Tomo Medved, Davor Božinović and Zdravko Marić from the Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) slates, and Boris Milošević of the Independent Democratic Serb Party (SDSS) who will represent the ethnic minorities and will be in charge of human rights.  

Medved is the Minister of Veterans' Affairs,  Božinović remains the Minister of the Interior and Marić stays in charge of the Ministry of Finance.

Nikolina Brnjac is the Minister of Tourism and Sport, Natasa Tramišak is in charge of Regional Development and European Funds, while Radovan Fuchs is the Minister of Science and Education.

Tomislav Ćorić is the Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development, Darko Horvat is responsible for Construction, Physical Planning and State Assets, Mario Banožić serves as the Minister of Defence, Malenica will be the Minister of Public Administration and Justice, while Josip Aladrović heads the Ministry of Labour, Pension System, Family and Social Policy.

Nina Obuljen Koržinek continues as the Minister of Culture and Media, Gordan Grlić Radman remains the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Vili Beroš stays in charge of the Ministry of Health, Marija Vučković continues as the Minister of Agriculture, and Oleg Butković as the Minister of Sea, Transport and Infrastructure.